Guy Kawasaki speaking at IFA

The closing speaker at IFA (International Franchise Association) convention was Guy Kawasaki, author of Enchantment. Guy defines Enchantment as “the process of delighting people with a product, service, organization or idea.” 

He shared several tips on how to be enchanting. Below are his top three:

  1. Be Likable – Learn how to smile! Sincere smiles create crows feet. Accept others. If you want to be liked, you have to like others.
  2. Achieve Trustworthiness – Trust others and then they will trust you. Gaining trust starts with giving trust.
  3. Bake, Don’t Eat – Bakers don’t see the world as “your gain is my loss and my gain is your loss.” Default to a paying it forward attitude. How can you help others?

Despite a recent surgery, Guy spoke with passion and enthusiasm. The lessons he shared to become enchanting are in his book and I highly recommend it!

Waiting for Guy

As Guy was leaving he paused for a quick picture with me. Well,  I have a confession to make – I asked his limo driver if I could hold the sign to draw Guy to me. The driver looked at me as though I had lost my mind but then with a big smile (including crows feet) he politely handed me the sign and said he would be waiting at the limo and would I kindly chaperon Guy in that direction.

Not only did I have a front row seat to hear one of the best presentations I have attended but I personally was given the opportunity to shake Guy’s hand, thank him and become completely enchanted! Not a bad way to end a great IFA convention attendance.

Thank you IFA and Guy!

Guy and Me!!