Social Media Hook

Wikipedia defines   Bait-and-switch as a form of fraud, most commonly used in retail sales but also applicable to other contexts. First, customers are “baited” by advertising for a product or service at a low price; second, the customers discover that the advertised good is not available and are “switched” to a costlier product.

A few months ago I felt as though someone pulled a social media bait and switch on me. Time has passed but I’m still disturbed by it. Here is what happened and you tell me how you would react.

A Twitter user with over 30k followers was promoting his/her new book. I kept up with the tweets but didn’t pursue ordering the book since it appeared to be a topic I am well versed in. Not to mention that I have a stack of books that I have yet to read. Then the  book promoting tweets started mentioning me.  There were tweets that indicated I, @DebCE was mentioned on page 33. Hmm…mentioned in a book. Hooked me right away and I jumped from Twitter to Amazon to place my order.

I was indeed mentioned on page 33. At the bottom of the page in a footnote with 154 other Twitter names.

Smart marketing or social media bait and switch?