I was fortunate to visit Walt Disney World in 1971 the year they opened. I have visited several times over the years and have always enjoyed myself. This week I spent a few days in Disney while my husband attended a conference. This time I visited as an entrepreneur and franchise leader without the company of children.

Per the suggestion of my business coach, David Handler I spent my time observing and learning from the Disney cast members. A few things about the Disney cast members:

  • they have a real commitment to customer satisfaction
  • consistently treat customers as individuals and not just another visitor to the park
  • they take pride in their work (while wearing really silly uniforms)
  • are enthusiastic and passionate despite the weather or crowds  which is very contagious

Disney provides legendary  customer service and it is no surprise that they have repeat customers. Do you provide the same? If not, spend a few days at Walt Disney World and you are guaranteed to have fun and will return with a renewed passion to provide customer service Disney style.