I am many things to many people. I am a daughter, sister, aunt, wife, mother, mother-in-law and grandmother. I am also a military mom. The holiday season has arrived and it will be a joyous year celebrating my grandson’s first Christmas. It will also be the first time one of my children will not be here to celebrate with us. My son, Dan is a 2nd Lieutenant in the U.S. Air Force and was deployed in October.

This time of year I find myself humming and singing all the holiday classics. I enjoy Frosty the Snowman (but so thankful I live in Texas and not shoveling snow like they are in Chicago), Rudolph The Rednose Reindeer (we have lots of deer but I have yet to find one with a rednose) and “I’ll Be Home For Christmas.” Here are the lyrics:

I’m dreamin’ tonight of a place I love
Even more then I usually do
And although I know it’s a long road back
I promise you

I’ll be home for Christmas
You can count on me
Please have snow and mistletoe
And presents under the tree
Christmas Eve will find me
Where the love light beams
I’ll be home for Christmas
If only in my dreams

Dan Skypes with his sister

As much as I love the song, “if only in my dreams” just doesn’t cut it for me. I want all my loved ones home for Christmas. Since this is out of my control technology makes those dreams as real as possible by using video Skype to keep in touch. A cyber hug is 2nd best to a real hug!

I’m thankful that I can keep in touch with my military loved one. Unfortunately, there are many incredible men and women who do not have the ability to connect with their families and deserve to know they are thought of. Take a minute to use technology to wish them the very best this holiday season. Use this link to send them a message: http://action.uso.org/action/sem-thank-you?sc=OM-gadw-p_Support-search_ThankYouEmail