I am in Las Vegas this week mixing a little business with pleasure. I had the opportunity to speak to the franchise organization Any Lab Test Now at their annual conference. They are a great group of franchisees that are stepping into the social technology world and I enjoyed giving them the big picture view to get them started.

Since I am in Vegas I registered for the Zappos tour which by the way is free. My tour started with Julie, a Zappos employee picking me up at my hotel. It is a short ride to the Zappos facility but I got to know a little about Julie. She moved to Vegas 22 years ago, has two children almost college age, has worked at Zappos for four years and absolutely loves it and admires Tony Hsieh tremendously.  We talked a little about Tony and she shared with me that he is a “humble, kind and very generous man.” Julie was very personable and her passion for Zappos was very evident. On our way back Julie and I did our version of the Zappos Happiness rap by the van.

 

Zappos Happiness Rap with Julie (Employee)

 

If you have not read Delivering Happiness, A Path to Profits, Passion, and Passion I recommend that you do. If you are in Vegas then add the tour on your to do list! Number one on the Zappos “10 core values” list is: Deliver WOW Through Service and #3 is: Create Fun and a Little Weirdness. I was totally WOWed by the tour from the very beginning. John was our tour guide and he gave a quick overview of the company and culture. We moved from department to department where we were greeted with applause, gifts, smores and even a chance to sit in the royalty chair. I loved the cubicles and how employees decorate their work space.

Zappos does deliver happiness with their online ordering, great customer service and makes you feel like royalty with their tour!