It was time to leave for my mini-vacation with my husband to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. As we were leaving he looked at me and said,  “I will leave my computer behind if you do.” He has a Droid and I have a Blackberry so neither of us thought twice about the decision to leave the laptops behind. This would be as good as time as any to test our technology dependency.

When we arrived at the airport security check  it felt odd not having a laptop to worry about. There was a strange feeling wondering if I made the right decision and a close call to a full-blown panic attack.   What would I do at 5am as I sip my coffee? My daily routine includes checking email, reading Facebook postings and Tweeting until the rest of the world awakens! I immediately reminded myself that I packed two books: Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook: A Tale of Sex, Money, Genius and Betrayal and Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose by Tony Hsieh, CEO, Zappos.com

I have been accused of having a technology addiction with a compulsion to never shut it off. Yes, my family affectionately calls my Blackberry the Crackberry but I seriously made myself a promise to let the blinking red light not interfere with my mini-vacation! You must know that my son was house/pet sitting with his wife who is nine months pregnant, I have a daughter that lives on her own in NJ and a son in the Air Force who may receive deployment orders any day. Ignoring the blinking red light was not an option. Ignoring the light only meant  checking to be sure the message is not from one of my kids and ignore the rest.

To keep my family and friends updated on my whereabouts I used foursquare.  Posting my checkins to Facebook allowed me to share my fun with my network. To my surprise I was able to collect five new badges and ousted the Mayor of Houston’s Park ‘N Fly!

My Blackberry was very handy when I posted the following video asking my network if I should follow the other tourists into “The Cave of the Winds” traveling 175 feet deep into Niagara Gorge. Should I be a follower to the bottom of the gorge and sport a brightly colored poncho and not so fancy footwear traveling on wooden walkways to the “Hurricane Deck.” Once arriving at the deck I would be expected to  jump underneath the rushing water. My vote was “no”, why would anyone want to 1. wear a plastic colored poncho 2. almost ugly foam sandals 3. jump into a tropical storm and hope to live to tell about it? Only seconds after my post  I received an overwhelming reply of “Yes” votes and a “I dare you.” It was the “I dare you” that did it and I’m here to tell you I lived through it and it shouldn’t be missed.

Can you shut it off? Well, apparently I still need to work on it but I believe I didn’t let technology interfere with my mini-vacation and used it to enhance my experience.

In all seriousness here is a link to an article about Tech Addicts. Tech Addict: When You Can’t Switch It Off It’s worth reading to be sure you are not one!