My Tweep (Twitter Friend) Julio Varella  had a very convincing blog post  “You have to comment on other blogs”. I totally enjoy reading various blogs daily so it’s been easy to post a comment. But what I haven’t paid attention to is my blog and let time slip by without a post!

Social networking has taught me a great deal. It’s easy to access and I have met some wonderful people. I spend a few hours each day  reading email, blogs, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc.  I believe social media should not replace attendance to local networking events.

IFA (International Franchise Association) is the world’s oldest and largest trade group representing business strategy. Its members are franchisees and franchisors in more than 75 industries, from auto repair to weight loss, daycare to travel agencies and much more. IFA contacted me in December 2009 and asked that I consider hosting the Franchise Business Network regional meeting in Houston (HFBN). I didn’t hesitate to accept  and the first quarterly meeting was held at our campus this week.

The topic for the meeting was “Social Media – Why It’s Important”. Our presenters were Lorri Wyndham and Edie McRae. Lorri did a great job providing the group with an overview of how COMPUTER EXPLORERS  has embraced social media. Edie’s presentation Non-Marketing: The power of connecting through conversations was well received. One attendee said, “I was hesitant to attend and others learn how little I know about social media. I have learned so much and ready to implement some great ideas”. 

As Edie pointed out very clearly Why should you care about social media?

  • BECAUSE 3 OUT OF 4 AMERICANS USE SOCIAL TECHNOLOGY.–Forrester, The Growth Of Social Technology Adoption, 2008
  • BECAUSE 2/3 OF THE GLOBAL INTERNET POPULATION VISIT SOCIAL NETWORKS.–Nielsen, Global Faces & Networked Places, 2009
  • BECAUSE VISITING SOCIAL SITES IS NOW THE 4TH MOST POPULAR ONLINE ACTIVITY—AHEAD OF PERSONAL EMAIL.–Nielsen, Global Faces & Networked Places, 2009
  • BECAUSE TIME SPENT ON SOCIAL NETWORKS IS GROWING AT 3X THE OVERALL INTERNET RATE-Nielsen, Global Faces & Networked Places, 2009

You can learn more about Edie on Twitter , Facebook, blog or LinkedIn

Hosting the first HFBN meeting was a great practice run for Lorri and me before our BIG panel presentations at the IFA 50th anniversary convention in February!