I started a Twitter account in December 2008 which opened my world to social media. I visited Twitter and Facebook off and on but  did not became a serious user until March 2009. In a very short time using social media I’ve learned a great deal and met some very influential people. I spoke at another franchise annual conference on social media, receive emails and calls requesting assistance and some have actually labeled me “an expert”! That is far from the truth but I am working very hard to learn as much as possible  positioning  myself as a leader in the franchise industry using social media successfully for marketing and branding.

My Twitter Friend Sue Young recently posted “You Know You’re A Social Media Fiend When ….” on her blog. Her list of 30 indicators  is hilarious and is almost spot on for me.  I thought about her  list and below is  my personal top 5 indicators that is proof I am becoming a social media fiend (and proud of it).

#1 I have panic attacks if I can’t log on to everything! (I start my day with coffee, Facebook, Twitter, Email, etc)

#2 When purchasing a new handbag the criteria is first and foremost that my blackberry, Flip and digital camera fit comfortable and easily accessible.

#3 I am asked  constantly: “Are you going to  Tweet or Facebook that?”

#4 I live by the transparency rule.

#5 I shamelessly try to out tech/out social media friends and family.

Hello I am Deb and I am a social media fiend and  I don’t want to join a support group.